Santa Ana - A 66-year-old woman gets three years of jail time and then three years of probation after plead guilty of the vehicle manslaughter charges. The accident happened back in 2011 in the city of Tustin and results into the death of a 3-year-old girl.
Soon Ok Lee, plead guilty to the charges of vehicular manslaughter. Along with the jail time and the probation, the court also ordered her to complete a community service of about 200 hours.
According to the authorities, Lee was driving her 2008 Acura, on Edinger Ave about 4.40pm, when she ran a red light and hit a 2002 Honda making a legal left turn at the intersection.
The force of the impact cause the Accord to spin and stop at the middle of the intersection where the Lee's car ended up on the sidewalk.
The incident caused a head trauma injury to a 3-year-old girl where she later pronounced dead on arrival to the hospital. The mother of the girl suffered a fractured hip injury.
Our expert Orange County Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Attorney explains that killing someone is a very serious crime, which is to be considered as a Felony in the Law of California. In simple words, Vehicular manslaughter can be defined as an tragic car accident which results to the death of a person.
Even though it is an accident, it is to be charged as a murder in the State Of California. According to our Santa Ana Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney, there could be a lot of reasons involved in the cause of an accident.
These reasons could be several external factors which could be not in your control like the whether, toad conditions, or recklessness of other drivers etc.Our experts attorneys explains that it is not always necessary that the accident happens because of your fault.
Whatever would be the reason,. our Orange County Felony Defense Attorney research about all the facts associated with the case and use these factors as a defense mechanism to save you being convicted of Vehicular Manslaughter.
If convicted of the more serious felony charge of PC 191.5(a) you face between four to ten years in state prison, or fifteen years-to-life in state prison if you have a prior PC 191.5 conviction or two or more prior DUI convictions. If convicted of PC 191.5(b) as a misdemeanor you face up to a year in Orange County jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.
After understanding the seriousness of the crime, it would definitely not be a wise choice to fight for these charges alone. You need to have our California Criminal Defense Attorney, who have the years of successful experience to fight for these charges.